• Publié par
  • Aug 04, 2009
  • Catégorie:
  • Comments Off

The Duke & The King – Nothing Gold Can Stay
Publishing : Kraked et Universal Music Publishing

The Duke And The King Nothing Gold Can Stay
CD sur Ramseur Records USA / Loose Records en Europe / LP sur Diverse Records
Tracklisting :
01. If You Ever Get Famous (3:48)
02. The Morning I Get To Hell (3:28)
03. Still Remember Love (3:24)
04. Union Street (4:53)
05. Lose My Self (2:49)
06. Suzanne (3:30)
07. Summer Morning Rain (3:15)
08. Water Spider (2:36)
09. I’ve Been Bad (1:12)
10. One More American Song (5:20)
Liens : | facebook | myspace | parisdjs | twitter


The Duke & The King – New Duo Featuring Simone Felice (The Felice Brothers) And Robert Chicken Burke (George Clinton) – Emerge From Winter’s Isolation With Sun-Faded Songs For Summer On ‘Nothing Gold Can Stay’ (Aug 4/Ramseur Records)

On August 4, Ramseur Records will release ‘Nothing Gold Can Stay’ by The Duke & The King, an album recorded in the the coldest Catskill winter, that shimmers with the light of memory and hope. ‘Nothing Gold Can Stay’ features ten new songs, all co-written by The Duke (Simone Felice of The Felice Brothers) and The King (Robert Chicken Burke), and was recorded on a two-inch tape machine in Burke’s one-room, woodstove-heated cabin – affectionately known as The Chapel – in Woodstock, NY.

The Duke & The King grew out of Simone Felice’s decision to take an extended break from The Felice Brothers at the end of 2008, after three years of non-stop touring. He set to work on his third book, and began writing and recording with his longtime friend Burke, himself on leave from recent stints with George Clinton, Sweet Honey in the Rock, and film scoring work for acclaimed french director Cedric Klapisch.

The two holed up in splendid isolation at The Chapel with a cache of vintage instruments, and emerged with an album of inspired contradictions. Made in the depths of winter, ‘Gold’ feels sun-faded and warm. It emits a bucolic calm, yet was mixed and mastered in Brooklyn by hip hop legend Bassy Bob Brockmann (Notorious B.I.G.). Fusing unlikely elements of blue-eyed soul, Topanga Canyon cool, and Marc Bolan-esque acoustic reverie, The Duke & The King sing of a time and place they can never return to, but will never forget.


The Duke & The King – ‪If You Ever Get Famous (BBC ‘…Later with Jools Holland’)‬


Les commentaires sont fermés.




    © Copyright 2012 Kraked. Tous droits réservés.